Girls’ Hair And The Laws Of The Land


 

I am from Togo and lived in a village where I schooled for 10 years and girls were not allowed to braid their hair. The main reason for that law was that girls’ hair could be distracting to boys, teachers and the girls themselves, also, a waste of time. Like my father will say: “Instead of you spending those hours doing your hair, you could better be reading your lessons or book”

But guess wha?, I remember some girls, daughters or nices  of our headmasters coming to school with their hair thread braided; especially when they came from the city. They looked so cute, while I looked at myself as ugly girl. Sometimes, they had to joint the group of short hair, cut  hair girs group. This made me lose myself esteem. It was like these girls, not only were they from the city, they also had they hair done, their school uniform were made in the city and even their cooking were better than ours. Everything about them was better than we from the village. I was sometimes jalous  but there was no way I could change things or be like them at that time. So I learned to teach myself that I could be like them one day when I finish my education. I could only express through my assiduity in school and hard work at home as in school. I respected everyone except for those who abused of my naivety me.  I could speak for myself for things that I thought I could correct or work to adjust. A lot of things made me retort into my shell praying to be saved one day by God. In the elementary school, we were so young so the hair do was not really our problem. In the secondary and high school, the rule of girls should not braid, and over all not do their hair like it is done nowadays , was still on. It was ok with me because not only did I not have the time, I did not have the  money to have my hair done. Although back then, I could have somebody do it for free. Remember that I did not have my self –esteem and I was always afraid of asking somebody. I really was not a big deal. I did not care. All I wanted was to make sure I had soap to wash my clothes and take my bath. Really this article is about girls ‘hair according to the laws of my country and myself –esteem. So in the secondary or middle school and high school, I continued without hair do. The girls who had longue hair have had their hair cut by the headmaster of the school or the teacher, supervisor of the week because they had refused to have it cut  before coming to school. It was not done suddenly do. We were told, given some weeks or days to cut our hair before coming back to school.

I had seen girls in my high school who had chemically altered  hair  their  during the week-end starting from Friday, had styled it any how they wanted on Saturday, Sunday and put it in ban, pony tail with one kind of braid and tucked into the hair kind like on Buntu knot for Monday thru  Friday morning. Sometimes they had braided their hair in flat twists or cornrows. Let me assure you that this was not any kind of girl who would do this. These girls were the tough one, girls that will not listen to any teacher’s recommendations or law. They could still do what they wanted and will not mind be sent home or ask to leave the class for that period of the time. Some teachers were very strict and others were not. The third group of teachers had some personal issues with some girls. Sot they treated them accordingly. Some class mats quieted school once asked to leave the class and never came back. Their hair meant a lot to them. I could let go my hair do, finish my education and then do whatever I wanted with my hair. That was that I did after graduating from high. I got my first hair relaxer in August 1990 and had to cut my hair before going back to school in October because of the burns and damages.

So if today, a Nigerian girl says that She will not go natural with her hair because she will be considered uncivilized, I thought so too. That is while I continued trying to chemically treat my hair until I learn to take care of hair in Cosmetology school where I discovered that there was one ingredient in relaxers, (I can remember the name now, but will do if need), that was also used in depilatory products.” a cosmetic preparation used to remove the hair from the skin on the human body”

Using Perm, relaxer in my hair, braiding it with extensions was really a way to show that I was now civilized. Using perms, relaxers in my hair was not supposed to be a burden on me if  I and my hairdressers knew what to use, how to us it and I how  to really care for my hair and scalp on a daily basis.

About Mapassion5

I am a God fearing person who loves people regardless of their origin, race, culture and intellectual background, the list can go on. God is spirit, and those who worship him must worship in spirit and truth. John 4: 24 I pray the Lord Almighty to lead me by his spirit so that I may know and speak the truth at all time of my life and everywhere I am. I have the passion of taking care of people. I worked as a nursing assistant for five years taking care of elderly people. Now, I am taking care of people's beauty. I have being growing up as a mother and father to my sibling. At the moment, I am the president and co-founder of a non-profit organization: Friends of the Disadvantaged Students for Brighter Future with the mission to help students in the rural areas in Africa. Actually, we have started in Togo where I am from by paying some students school fees, school supplies and other necessary things. I believe that with God by my side, everything I dream of will come to happen. I am a Documentalist and Cosmetologist who likes to research, I love to learn, to know, to look for and discorver. I love the think before I make any decision. I love to write and to read. I am here to learn and share. Before I forget, I am a huge fan of Gospel Music. It makes my day. I feel fulfill when I sing and dance for the Lord; althought I am not a good singer neither am I a good dancer but still , I can dance for my glorious savior. Peace and Love to you all.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

3 Responses to Girls’ Hair And The Laws Of The Land

  1. gw2 gold says:

    Hey there my name is Jill and I’m a blogger and this blog really helped me. I’m refocused! Thank you!

  2. Thanks, wonderful publish.

  3. jordan shoes says:

    That’s a good post.

Leave a Reply

