Anderson Cooper : Anderstand the Question


This morning as I was busy with my daily routine, I stumbled on Mr. Anderson Cooper’s Day time show and there was a question about a preacher,  Michael Pearl, who teaches his follows according to The  book, “To Train Up a Child,” to spank children. In this article, I would like to share my observations, experiences and what I think about  the show. you heard me and I said the TV Show. not the preacher’s book.

From what I saw today, people don’t think sometime before they give and answer. Sometimes they just give an answer based on what they think will be the general assertion, the direct response that everybody will expect. here I don’t want to make it look like spanking children is a best way to discipline them and make them understand what their little body seems to ignore. I am not in support of the preacher, I did not read his book and don’t think  that I would read it. I know that as a child I did not want anybody to beat or hurt me physically. I might have been spanked while I was very young up to 5 years. But trust me as I was growing, any relative who was able to beat me, really did it surprisingly. If I knew, I run before they reach me. According to my culture, when you want to spank a child who runs, that means he or she is afraid of the spanking and respect you. when I ran and come back later, I was no longer beaten. So today, Mr. Anderson asked the preacher to explain how he thinks that a baby should be punished if it came to bite the mother’s breast or nipple while being breastfed.  The preacher said that according to the tradition; may be where he is from or his interpretation of the Bible, a mother should pull on the baby ‘s hair if it bites her during breast-feeding. Everybody started shaking their head before he finished explaining the process. Then Mr. Anderson ask his audience if it was ok. To my biggest surprise, most  moved in a sign of disapprove. I was shocked to see that. Shocked because the reality is , involuntary, and spontaneous. The preacher’s process is too far and too late when it comes to this  incident. I saw my grandmother, ma mother, step mothers aunties women in general from different horizon spank their babies between 4 months and plus, who bite their mothers’ nipples. it just come, you don’t think before hitting the child at that moment and at his or her butts. This does not mean that you are a bad mother, an unconscious mother. Usually it just happens. The mothers are not prepared to hit or spank their child on the butts. Do you really know how it feels when a child bites the mother’s nipple? you don’t know and you don’t want to know. Woopsy what are I even bordering myself for? Have you ever breastfed? I you ever going to breast-feb your child? I know that it is a fashion nowadays for some ladies not to breast – fed their new-born. In the hospitals, the doctors and Nurses ask to know if the new baby mama is opting to naturally feed the child (breast-fed) or artificially. (bottle and formulas). We all know that some women can not breast-feed because of a medical condition that could alter the health of the baby and or the mother. I am sorry for the mother that are incapacitated after child-birth. I understand that if you could, you would. But what about you that chose to not breast-feed for you fear to lose the elasticity in you chest? I think and I believe that choosing not to breast-feed your child while with all the medical and physical potential is a sin and is the very first child abuse. Why is nobody talking about that? who sees that the preacher’s book has contributed to many child abuse , to killing. All depends on what the readers  want to take from the book and how they interpret the knowledge the read to themselves. For example when you read a cooking book and jump on one recipe to replicate the taste of your final result depends on how much heat served to boil the cooking and how long you kept it on the oven or in the stove. And when some thing goes wrong, I don’t think that it is the writer’s fault.

Moreover those parents who treated their children, from what we heard one lady say on the 911 call, you can tell how responsable that mother is when she doesn’t even know how old the”daughter was”.  Who knows if the child had any pre-condition. Irresponsibility and maltreatment. It is very sad that this happen to these children. My own observation, I think that the two couples that had the black girls has adopted them. There might be incompatibility between the parents and the children. Also, spiritually speaking something could  be wrong. you and I don’t know that. Aren’t we forgetting about something? Parents who are not able to control their emotions. What els can we say. I don’t think that the preacher encourage the abuses in the homes where his book was found but there is a” moral responsibility.” that only God understands better.  Let us not crucify those who spank but more look  to when spanking a child crosses the line and becomes abuse. Stay blessed

 

 

 

 

About Mapassion5

I am a God fearing person who loves people regardless of their origin, race, culture and intellectual background, the list can go on. God is spirit, and those who worship him must worship in spirit and truth. John 4: 24 I pray the Lord Almighty to lead me by his spirit so that I may know and speak the truth at all time of my life and everywhere I am. I have the passion of taking care of people. I worked as a nursing assistant for five years taking care of elderly people. Now, I am taking care of people's beauty. I have being growing up as a mother and father to my sibling. At the moment, I am the president and co-founder of a non-profit organization: Friends of the Disadvantaged Students for Brighter Future with the mission to help students in the rural areas in Africa. Actually, we have started in Togo where I am from by paying some students school fees, school supplies and other necessary things. I believe that with God by my side, everything I dream of will come to happen. I am a Documentalist and Cosmetologist who likes to research, I love to learn, to know, to look for and discorver. I love the think before I make any decision. I love to write and to read. I am here to learn and share. Before I forget, I am a huge fan of Gospel Music. It makes my day. I feel fulfill when I sing and dance for the Lord; althought I am not a good singer neither am I a good dancer but still , I can dance for my glorious savior. Peace and Love to you all.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Anderson Cooper : Anderstand the Question

  1. This is definitely the thing I’ve been hunting for! Superb and thanks!

  2. Nellie Kocaj says:

    I clicked on this site by searching Google. I have discovered it quite interesting. Many thanks for writing about this. I’ll really need to come again here again!

Leave a Reply

